Buddhism - Lesson 8

The Journey of the Bodhisattva

A bodhisattva is an enlightened one who, out of compassion, forgoes nirvana in order to save others.

Lesson 8
Watching Now
The Journey of the Bodhisattva

The Emergence of the “Great Vehicle”

Part 3

III. The Journey of the Bodhisattva

A. Introduction

B. Charting the Course of the Journey

1. Six Perfections

a. giving (dāna)

b. morality (śīla)

c. patience (kşānti)

d. vigor (vīrya)

e. meditation (dhyāna)

f. wisdom (prajñā)

added later to correspond to the Ten Stages:

g. skillful means

h. vows

i. power

j. omniscient knowledge

2. The Ten Stages

a. Joy

b. Purity

c. luminosity

d. radiance

e. difficult to conquer

f. face-to-face

g. going far

h. immovable

i. good insight

j. Dharma cloud

3. Celestial Bodhisattvas

a. Maitreya

i. Future Buddha

ii. Bodhisattva of power

iii. marks of identification

b. Mañjuśrī

i. Prince of Dharma

ii. Bodhisattva of wisdom

iii. marks of identification

c. Avalokiteśvara

i. Enlightened eye

ii. marks of identification

iii. Bodhisattva of compassion

Terms to know from this lecture:

Six Perfections
Ten Stages

All Lessons
Class Resources

This course is an overview of the religion of Buddhism. We are missing four lectures which cover the points in the outline: the rise of Buddhist philosophy, Vajranyana Buddhism, Korean Buddhism and Buddhism in America. Dr. Tennent will record these lessons the next time he lectures on Buddhism.