Buddhism - Lesson 3

The First Two Sermons (Part 1)

The First Sermon of Buddha

Lesson 3
Watching Now
The First Two Sermons (Part 1)

The Voice of Dissent

Part 3

II. The First Two Sermons (part 1)

A. The First Sermon

1. Four Noble Truths:

a. TRUTH # 1: All of Life is eventually sorrowful (Dukha)

b. TRUTH # 2: Sorrow (Dukha) is Caused by Desire (Tanha)

c. TRUTH #3: Cessation of Desire is the key to the extinguishing of the ego and putting out the fire/flame of ‘thirst’/ ‘craving’

Hinduism background #4: Hindu reflection on wheel of samsara and Moksa

d. TRUTH #4: There is a Path (Marga) which leads to the Cessation of Suffering (Dukha)

2. The Eight-fold Path

B. The Second Sermon

1. The Three Characteristics

a. Impermanence

b. Angst

c. No-Self

Misery only does exist, but none miserable;

No doer is there, nothing but the deeds are found,

Nirvana is, but not the man who seeks it,

The 8-fold path exists, but not the traveler on it.

Terms to Know from this Lecture:

The First Sermon
The Second Sermon
Eight-fold path
Four Noble Truths

All Lessons
Class Resources

This course is an overview of the religion of Buddhism. We are missing four lectures which cover the points in the outline: the rise of Buddhist philosophy, Vajranyana Buddhism, Korean Buddhism and Buddhism in America. Dr. Tennent will record these lessons the next time he lectures on Buddhism.