Corpus Evangelicorum

The delegates from the Protestant states in the Holy Roman Empire charged with the protection of Protestant interests in the imperial diet. The organization of these delegates into a structured party was the product of a slow evolution, and it was not until the Diet of Ratisbon (1653) following the Thirty Years' War that a clear structure emerged. Saxony was chosen to serve as the permanent president of the Corpus, which now consisted of the thirty-nine Protestant states represented in the diet. The Corpus Evangelicorum was opposed by the Corpus Catholicorum,* and both existed until the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire in 1806.