Free Online Bible Classes | Order and Structure of the Books in the Writings

Order and Structure of the Books in the Writings

Please Log in to Attend this Lecture

Please log into your free account so you can attend this lecture.

Create account    Login


The twelve books in the Writings are divided into two groups of six. The first six books are about covenant life. The latter six books are about life in exile.


I. The Writings

a. The First Six Books: Covenant Life

1. Psalms

2. Job

3. Proverbs and Ruth

4. Song of Songs

5. Ecclesiastes

b. The Second Six Books: Life in Exile

1. Lamentations

2. Esther

3. Daniel

4. Ezra to Chronicles

II. Some Implications of the Hebrew Canonical Structure

III. The Source of the Arrangement of the Hebrew Canonical Structure

IV. Should we Follow the Hebrew Arrangement for our Bibles?

V. Understanding the Covenantal Structure of our Bibles

a. Personal Experience at Seminary

b. The Influence of Meredith Kline

c. The Development of my Chart

d. Drawing the Chart

Biblical Training

The BiblicalTraining app gives you access to 2,300 hours of instruction (129 classes and seminars). Stream the classes, or download and listen to them offline. Share classes via social media, email, and more.