Pillars 1 & 2 | Free Online Bible Classes

Lecture 7: Pillars 1 & 2

Login to download lecture and curriculum

Please create a free account and login to be able to download the lecture and curriculum (if any). All content is free and you can attend the lecture without logging in, but we do request that you login to download.

Create account    Login


The first two pillars of the Muslim faith are the confession of faith (Shahadah), and ritual prayer (Salat).


Central Articles of Islamic Faith and Practice

Part 1

I.  Great Qur'anic Passage #6: Surah 112 “The Unity”

A.  One-third of the Qur’an – Second most quoted Surah in Qur’an

B.  Anti-Christian theme: “He begot none, nor was He begotten”


II.  Unifying Principles: Five Pillars (part 1)

A.  Confession of Faith (Shahadah)

1.  Phrase does not appear in the Qur’an, only its components/theology

2.  “I bear witness” – entrance into the “dar al-Islam

3.  “There is no God, but Allah”

a.  20:8, 112:1 – parallels with Hebrew Shema

b.  Allah’s sovereignty and unrivaled providence

4.  “Muhammad is the Prophet of Allah”

a.  Muhammad is the human conduit through which the Qur’an is revealed to the world; the final “seal” of the prophets

b.  Muhammad is the first to submit to Allah as an Arab Muslim

c.  Muhammad becomes the supreme example of a true Muslim

B.  Ritual Prayer (Salat)

1.  Du’a vs. Salat

2.  Call to Prayer (Adhan) by Muezzin

3.  Four aspects of Salat

a.  ablution (5:6)

b.  direction (qiblah) (2:144) (change: 2:115, 177)

c.  movements (rak’ah) (4:103)

d.  times (111:114)

If you are enjoying this lecture, would you consider making a donation so others can learn from it as well?

Please donate now

BiblicalTraining is a non-profit and relies on its users for support.


57 min

Sharing Links