Muhammed and Caliphs

Login to Attend Lecture

Please create a free account and login to attend this lecture. All content is free, but we do request that you log in.


After Muhammad's death in 632 AD, he was succeeded by the four "rightly guided caliphs."


Historical Development

Part 1

I.  Great Qur'anic Passage #8: Surah 48:18 “Sakina Glory”


II.  Historical Recap to 632 - Key Historical Events

A.D. 570 - Birth

A.D. 610 - Night of Power and Excellence

A.D. 622 - Hejira

A.D. 630 - Triumphant Return to Mecca

A.D. 632 - Death


III.  The Four "Rightly Guided Caliphs" (part 1)

A.  Muhammad’s Successor

B.  Survey of Four “Rightly Guided” Caliphs and the Caliphate

1.  Abu Bakr (632-634)

2.  Umar ibn al-khattab (634-644)

3.  ‘Uthman ibn ‘Affan (644-656)

4.  Ali (657-661)


59 min