A theory of church government brought in with the Reformation but formulated later—e.g., by C. Thomasius (1655-1728) and J.H. Böhmer (1749). The temporal ruler, by virtue of his office, possesses the right of regulating his country's ecclesiastical affairs and of banishing those disturbing the peace of the church. He himself is not subject to ecclesiastical discipline. Only one religion is permitted in a territory. It is summarized in the formula adopted at the Peace of Augsburg* (1555): cuius regio, eius religio. Opposite views are the “Collegialism” of H. Grotius,* S. Pufendorf,* and C.M. Pfaff, and the “Confessionalism” of the Anabaptist* tradition.