Doctors of The Church

A term that came to be applied to eight Early Fathers conspicuous for learning, sound doctrine, and saintliness. These comprised Ambrose, Augustine of Hippo, Gregory the Great, Jerome, John Chrysostom, Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Athanasius. During the past four centuries the Roman Catholic Church has proclaimed twenty-four more “Doctors,” beginning with Thomas Aquinas (1567). The most recently proclaimed were Teresa of Avila and Catherine of Siena (both 1970).