Developmentalism | Free Online Bible Classes

Lecture 11: Developmentalism

Login to download lecture and curriculum

Please create a free account and login to be able to download the lecture and curriculum (if any). All content is free and you can attend the lecture without logging in, but we do request that you login to download.

Create account    Login


Tailoring curriculum by taking into peoples' physical and spiritual developmental stages can make teaching more effective.


Continuity: When do we teach what?

Part 1

I.  Developmentalism

A.  Spiritual Development

B.  Developmentalism

1.  God's Design

2.  Resources

a.  Created to Learn, William R. Yount

b.  Nurture that is Christian, Wilhoit and Dettoni

C.  Cognitive Development - Piaget

1.  Sensorimotor (0-2)

2.  Preoperational (2-7)

a.  Preconceptual

b.  Intuitive

3.  Concrete Operations (7-11)

4.  Formal Operations (12-15)

D.  Faith Development - Fowler

1.  Primal (0-2)

2.  Intuitive-Projective (2-6)

3.  Mythical-Literal (7-11)

4.  Synthetic-Conventional (11-22)

5.  Individuative-Reflective (Young adult)

6.  Conjunctive (Middle adult)

7.  Universalizing (Older adult)

E.  Stages of Moral Reasoning - Kohlberg

1.  Preconventional (4-10)

a.  Concern with obedience and punishment

b.  Concern with satisfying needs

2.  Conventional (10-13)

a.  Desire for "good boy" or "good girl" image

b.  Concern for law and order, duty, and respect

3.  Postconventional (13+)

a.  Concern for legitimate rights of the individual

b.  Concern for ethical principles

If you are enjoying this lecture, would you consider making a donation so others can learn from it as well?

Please donate now

BiblicalTraining is a non-profit and relies on its users for support.


43 min

Sharing Links