The Qur'an and the Five Pillars | Free Online Bible Classes

Lecture 7: The Qur'an and the Five Pillars

Login to download lecture and curriculum

Please create a free account and login to be able to download the lecture and curriculum (if any). All content is free and you can attend the lecture without logging in, but we do request that you login to download.

Create account    Login


Muslims believe that the Qur'an is a divine revelation from God given directly to Muhammed beginning in about A.D. 610. The Five Pillars of the Islamic religion are the confession of faith, ritual prayer, almsgiving, fasting, and pilgrimage.


The Qur'an and the Five Pillars of Islam


I. The Qur'an

A. Background

B. Arrangement of the Surahs

C. Abrogation

D. The First Surah

E. The People of the Book


II. The Five Pillars

A. Confession of Faith (Shahadah)

1. Allah's sovereignty and unrivaled providence

2. Muhammad as the final "seal" of the prophets

B. Ritual Prayer (Salat)

1. Call to Prayer (Adhan) by the Muezzin

2. Four Aspects of Salat

a. Ablution

b. Direction (qiblah)

c. Movements (rak'ah)

d. Times

C. Almsgiving (Zakat)

1. Minister to the poor

2. Support Islamic missions

D. Fasting (Sawm)

1. Ninth month of Ramadan

2. Feast of 'id al Fitr (Breaking of the Fast)

E. Pilgrimage (Hajj)

1. Time of the Hajj

2. First Day

a. Ihram (consecration)

b. Tawaf (circumambulation of Ka'ba)

c. Saai (hastening between Safa and Marwa)

d. Plains of Arafat

3. Second Day - Mina - throwing stones at the Devil

4. Third Day - "Rebirth"


For more on The Qur'an and the Five Pillars of Islam, go to "Introduction to Islam" in the Leadership Education section of this site:

Lecture #4 - The Qur'anic Worldview, Part 1 and Part 2

Lecture #5 - Central Articles, Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3

If you are enjoying this lecture, would you consider making a donation so others can learn from it as well?

Please donate now

BiblicalTraining is a non-profit and relies on its users for support.


47 min

Sharing Links